Go ahead, fix a bug.

I had a great experience last night. I was about to fall asleep when @genehack mentioned that there was a bug in his great Git::Wrapper module. It wasn’t a core super hard bug, basically a test was failing, and it had to do with a command requiring a certain version of git and above.  Well, I decided I wanted to see if I could help, which lead to this exchange:

Image

So, I went on my merry way.  It’s really not so hard to do what is needed in this fine age of github.  I forked his repository, cloned it to my dev box, added the changes, pushed back to github, and submitted this pull request. It was really that easy.  Mind you, figuring out the internals of the module took a second, but it didn’t kill me.  45 minutes well invested, if I do say so myself.  I woke up this morning to the following awesomeness:

Image

Look at me being all fancy, what with my contributing to open source and whatnot.

This entry was posted in tech and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

